About SNU / SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

SNU Awards /

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.

LEE Hee-ho/Social Activist and the First Lady of Korea(1998-2003)

Lee was a leader of democratic and feminist movements in Korea. She led YMCA as the women’s democratic movement group in 1960s-1970s.

HUH Woong/Professor, Seoul National University Department of Linguistics

Professor Huh was the leading Korean linguist who wrote 25 books and more than 100 research papers. He served as the chairman of the Korean Language Society for more than 30 years.

Last updated in 2018