About SNU / SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

SNU Awards /

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.

KWON E-hyock/Professor Emeritus, Seoul National University College of Medicine
Chairman of the Korea Foundation for International Healthcare

Professor Kwon contributed to the development of Seoul National University serving as Dean of the College of Medicine, Dean of the Graduate School of Public Health, Director of the University Hospital, and the President of SNU.

KIM Jae-Soon/Founder of Samtoh Magazine

Kim founded a literary magazine Samtoh in 1970 in which many of great literatures have been published for more than four decades.

Lee O-young/Writer

Lee is a critic and novelist who represents the postwar generation. He was the chief editor of the first literary magazine in Korea, founder of the first semiotics institute in Korea, the manager of the opening and closing ceremonies of the 1988 Seoul Olympics, and the first minister of culture.

KIM Sung-Hou/Professor, UC Berkeley Department of Chemistry

Professor Kim made a great research achievements at the University of California at Berkeley. He served as director of the Calvin Chemical Biodynamics Laboratory.

PARK Young Hee/Vice Chancellor of the University of the Arts Bremen

Park was the first female in the German-speaking countries to serve as the head professor of the University of the Arts Bremen and university vice chancellor. She was invited as a judge to important contemporary music concerts all over the world, thereby raising the status of Koreans and bringing prestige to Seoul National University

Last updated in 2018