About SNU / SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

SNU Awards /

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.

BAEK Nak-hwan/Honorary President of Inje University
Chairman of the Board of Inje University Paik Hospital

President Paek practiced medicine both domestically and internationally by providing free medical treatment. He contributed to promoting friendly relationships and cooperative exchange between countries by serving on the National Unification Advisory Council, aiding children in North Korea suffering from tuberculosis, and founding the Korean Society of Hospital Management

CHO Soon/Professor Emeritus, Seoul National University Department of Economics

Professor Cho provided the theoretical groundwork for economic policies in macroeconomics, and contributed to preparing the basis of economics education. He reflected academic achievements into policy making, by serving as the Minister and Deputy Prime Minister of the Economy Planning Board, the Governor of the Bank of Korea, and the first mayor of Seoul elected by popular vote.

LIM Kwang Soo/President of Seoul National University Alumni Association

President Lim contributed to national economic development by growing Limkwang Engineering & Construction Co., Ltd. into a leading business. He established scholarship foundation while serving as President of Seoul National University Alumni Association.

LEE Ku-Taek/Chairman of POSCO

Chairman Lee grew POSCO into a top global business through economic, environmentally friendly and innovative steel manufacturing technology. He contributed to the improvement of scientific technology and the invigoration of economic cooperation between countries

Last updated in 2018