About SNU / SNU Awards

Distinguished SNU Members

SNU Awards /

Distinguished SNU Members

Seoul National University honors the people who made distinguished achievements in their lives with the Distinguished SNU Members Award. It has been the highest honor bestowed upon SNU alumni or faculty since 1991. The award is granted annually on the founding anniversary of the university during the official anniversary ceremony.

KIM Soungtai/Professor Emeritus, Seoul National University College of Music

Professor Kim provided groundwork for creative music by establishing a new art world based on Korean sentiments. He established musical and cultural policies, serving as the Chairman of the Korean Art Conservatory.

LHO Shin Young/Chairman of Lotte Scholarship Foundation

Chairman Lho contributed to national development in terms of diplomatic security serving as the Korean ambassador to Switzerland and the Minister of Foreign Affairs. As the chairman of the foundation, he supported underprivileged students.

SOHN Kyung-shik/Chairman of CJ Group

Contributed to national economic development as a businessman representing Korea; Presented a vision of establishing and operating government policies by actively serving as the Chairman of the Korea Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Chairman of the Korea Environmental Preservation Association, and as a member of Korea's National Competitiveness Council

Last updated in 2018